Tags

,

You may have noticed that I haven’t posted a single sweet thing all month. I’m sorry ravenous dessert beasts, just stop putting cookies in your face for a minute so I can explain. It’s because I have the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe for you. If I shared it any sooner, you would have stopped reading my blog in favor of eating only these cookies all the time. And honestly, sometimes I think you should get a little more variety in your diet. 

But there are so many good chocolate chip cookie recipes, how could any one possibly stand out? Good question, person I don’t know, and I have the answer. Beyond just tasting like proper chocolate chip cookies, these are about as cheap and quick to make as their non-vegan brethren. On top of that, they involve only ingredients you’re virtually guaranteed to have on hand. Once I learned this recipe, I made these cookies so often I had to deliberately stop buying sugar so that I would stop making them. I am not kidding. I hope that gives you an idea of both how good these are and how much I lack of self control.

You can find the original recipe on VegWeb posted by the lovely Admin, whose real name I wish I knew. Below you’ll find my slightly altered version plus the super secret pro tips that will make these perfect every time.

Happy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 c flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c “white” sugar
  • 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 c or more of water***
  • a couple shakes of cinnamon (don’t leave it out, it’s awesome)
  • a handful of chocolate chips (between 1/3-1/2 c)

Did you notice all those stars I put by the water? The reason is that this recipe, more than any I have ever made, is sensitive to the dryness of your flour. This is actually significant enough to screw up these cookies, so bear with me while I explain.

Flour is stored in permeable packaging (paper) and that means it can lose or gain moisture according to its surroundings. If you live somewhere anyone has ever called dry, chances are your flour–by the time you get around to using it–is sort of drier. If it’s drier, it will suck up more moisture when wet ingredients are introduced, which will give you drier dough than the recipe probably wants. The problem is, you won’t necessarily know how dry or moist your flour is until you attempt this recipe. And if you try to add the water after you discover the dough is too dry, it just will. not. work. So, if you live somewhere dry, you need to add 1-2 tbsp more water BEFORE MIXING the wet ingredients in to achieve the right results. If you have any doubt whatsoever about your climate, add 1-2 tbsp extra water just in case. Worst case scenario, you’ll have to bake the cookies longer to get it out.

NOW LET’S MAKE SOME FREAKIN’ COOKIES. Preheat your oven to 350 F / 177 C. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

Whisk together the sugars, oil, water, and vanilla. You want everything to emulsify. Immediately dump that into the dry ingredients, add chocolate chips, and stir until just incorporated. You should end up with dough that you can wad into a ball and mold without it cracking or crumbling.

Form the dough into roughly 1 1/2 inch diameter balls, smooshing each into a fat disc on your ungreased cookie sheet. Bake them for 10-12 minutes, BUT NOT MORE if you want soft cookies. These tend to look less done than they are (by being lighter in color), but if you cook them till they look done, they’ll be really crispy. Personally, I’m saving my teeth for ice cubes.

If you’re a genuine dessert beast, you might only bake up half the dough and store the other half in the freezer to eat raw. But I wouldn’t know anything about that.

